Tenure	Man.	Sask.	Alta.	B.C.	Yukon and N.W.T.	Canada
	sq. miles	sq. miles	sq. miles	sq. miles	sq. miles	sq. miles
 Alienated, patented, granted, etc In process of alienation Dominion lands other than National Parks and Indian Reserves 	43, 938 245 3	102,850 1,739 47	72,703 2,994 103	19,810 6,700 161	Nil	352,430 3 17,978 4 1,460,398 3
4. Dominion National Parks	1,148 816	1,869 1,879	20,940 ° 2,217		1,459,879 3,6257 9	
lands and forest reserves, but not provincial parks	173, 573 Nil	$127,908 \\ 1,683$	149, 841 2	315,508 14,084	Nil ."	1,571,207 26,489
Totals, Land Area	219,723	237,975	248,800	359,279	1,463,563	3,466,882

1.-Classification of Lands in Canada, by Tenure, (circa) 1943-concluded

¹ Includes lands in process of alienation. ² Less than one square mile. ³ See footnotes to constituent items. ⁴ For provinces indicated only. ⁵ Includes 752,282 square miles set aside by Order in Council as native game preserves in which only Indians and Eskimos may hunt, as game sanctuaries in which hunting and trapping is forbidden, and as reserves for reindeer grazing, but which are not regarded as national parks. ⁶ Includes Wood Buffalo Park (which, although reserved by the Dominion, is not administered as a national park in N.W.T.

Subsection 1.—Dominion Public Lands*

The public lands under the administration of the Dominion Government comprise lands in the Northwest Territories, including the Arctic Archipelago and the islands in Hudson Strait and Bay and James Bay; lands in Yukon Territory; National Parks and historic sites (see pp. 11-16); Indian reserves (see p. 998); Ordnance and Admiralty lands, and, in general, all lands held by the several departments of the Dominion Government for various purposes connected with Dominion administration including the Tar Sands Reservation comprising 4 areas, amounting in all to 2,068 acres, in the Fort McMurray District of Alberta. The lands and other natural resources lying within the boundaries of the Provinces of Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta and British Columbia that had formerly been administered by the Dominion Government, were transferred in 1930 to the administration of the provinces concerned. (See p. 1019 of the 1931 Year Book.)

The great bulk of the land areas under Dominion administration are those of Yukon and the Northwest Territories, amounting to about 936,680,000 acres or 42 p.c. of the land surface of Canada. In general, the southern border of both Yukon and the Northwest Territories is 60° N. latitude. In Europe, the cities of Oslo, Stockholm and Leningrad are near this line; about three-fourths of Norway, two-thirds of Sweden, Finland and a large portion of Russia are north of it. This northern part of the national domain is under the Administration of the Lands, Parks and Forests Branch of the Department of Mines and Resources. The Royal Canadian Mounted Police maintain law and order throughout Yukon and the Northwest Territories.

The Northwest Territories.—At pp. 946-948 of the 1941 Year Book an account of the administration of the Northwest Territories is given. The following paragraphs bring that review up to date.

Important developments in 1942 and 1943 included the drilling program carried out at the Norman oil-field in the lower Mackenzie Basin as part of the Canol Project; the reopening of the pitchblende-silver property of the Eldorado Mining

^{*} Prepared under the direction of R. A. Gibson, Deputy Commissioner, Administration of the Northwest Territories, Ottawa.